IGNORED

Managing Compilations and Various Artists

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have been having an issue with sorting in my new ipod touch and haven't been able to find answers anywhere, so was hoping that someone here may know what to do. I apologize if this has been discussed here before; I searched the forum but did not see anything directly addressing this but am sorry if I missed it.

I previously used an ipod classic, but switched to a touch recently (6th gen, 128gb). My issue is with where I can find albums that are labeled "compilation". It was my understanding that if something was checked as a compilation, it would not be listed under artists unless there were other albums by that artist already on the ipod. And if not, it was listed under the Compilations folder of the ipod. At least this is how it was with the ipod classic. So, for example, I have the album Gram Parsons anthology album Sacred Hearts And Fallen Angels. This has songs by five different artists (The International Submarine Band, The Byrds, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Gram Parsons, and Gram Parsons & The Fallen Angels). I have other albums by each of these artists, so under the Artists menu on my ipod classic, the albums from each artist was in their respective folder as well as Sacred Hearts And Fallen Angels, with just the songs by that artist. This allowed me to be able to play all my music by one artist, or if I wanted to listen to the entire compilation album, I could find it under either albums or compilations. Now, wit the ipod touch, it does not sort it this way. So what I am trying to solve is how do I get a compilation album to be listed with albums when sorting by Artists (assuming I have other albums by that artist) and to also be listed as one album when sorting by either Albums or Compilations.