IGNORED

Syncing iBooks on IOS 8.4

I hope this is the correct place to ask this question. Let me know if it's not.

I'm a programmer with 20+ years experience. I've got an iBook running the latest Yosemite, and a 128gig wifi iPad running the latest IOS. (And yeah, I've got it mostly filled up. Only 20gig free, and I don't have all of my tech videos loaded.)

I'm having a really frustrating problem trying to sync my iBooks library to my iPad. I have 300+ books, mostly epubs, some pdfs. Some came from the iBooks store, some from other publishers. Some have DRM, many do not. (They're all legal, I don't pirate material.) I believe my problem started with IOS 8.4, at least that's when I first noticed it.

I can sync my iPad and all the books appear to transfer correctly. But as soon as I open iBooks on the iPad, it pauses for a moment and 100+ books then disappear from the iPad. I haven't identified any commonality to the books that are deleted versus those that work. It's always the same books.

This is really a serious problem. I carry my technical library with me, that's the main reason I bought an iPad! And this makes my library much less useful. To say nothing of making several thousand dollars of material unavailable to me when I need it most!

I don't use Apple Match, I don't use the new iCloud music thingie. I tried a complete factory reset on the iPad. At this point, I'm desperately looking for an alternative to iBooks for the iPad, but I really, seriously don't want to have to redownload 100+ books as pdfs... :-(

To be honest, I so totally hate reading on an iPad - the glare - that I don't sync any books to mine. I do occasionally open a manual that I store on Dropbox on the iPad, but I read other books on my Kindle. So I have never synced more than a few books to my iPad, and I haven't heard of any specific problems. Of course, syncing anything is a crap shoot these days, so I'm not surprised, but I don't know where to begin to try and troubleshoot this.