IGNORED

Guidance Please: ICE-Powered Class D Amps? Suggestions for Pre-Amps Also Sought.

Just curious whether anyone here has experience w/ these amps--specifically amps using the ICE modules made by B&O. After a lengthy hiatus from audio-related things, I've been spending the past few months re-familiarizing myself w/ things. I have a rather simple, decidedly mid-fi setup now, but I plan to begin upgrading in earnest the next few months. I've just ordered an Apple TV to use as my primary music transport; I plan to buy a PS Audio Digital Link III (perhaps stage III modded by Cullen Circuits) to use as a DAC, and on Chris' recommendation, I will be looking at the PS Audio Digital Lens once it's released.

I currently have a Cambridge Audio Azur 540R V2 receiver... It's "o.k.", don't get me wrong, but I'd like to move to separates. I'll also be looking at pre-amps, and even though I've been urged to look at a tube pre, I think I'll stick to SS for now. I have zero experience w/ tubes, and I don't feel like going through the learning curve to properly setup & maintain a tube component. That, and I'm not entirely certain I like the distortion that tube aficionados seem to love . I would also prefer a pre w/ some sort of bass management b/c I want to use a sub in my 2.0 setup (I don't care about multi-channel audio; maybe I will someday, but I'll worry about that then). Guess I'm not much of an audiophile, huh?

And yes, I am also planning to address room treatment!!

My budget is uncertain, meaning it's malleable. For the amp & pre, I'd like to keep it below $3K--I'll have enough tied-up in the Apple TV/DAC/Re-clocker. My speaker budget will be higher (~$5K), but I have a good handle on that front...

Any suggestions, whether it be impartial or not is welcome to me...