IGNORED

Not really impressed with Metric Halo ULN2

I have a brand new ULN2 in home for a demo. I finally have it working thanks Clay who sent me a working MIO template early this morning! It's good to know people like Clay!

My digital playback reference is an Oppo 981HD dvd player. I've been using this for quite a few months while deciding on that to do for a music server.

My system details are in my signature below. Furthermore, I'm using the stock Mini internal disk for iTunes storage. File format is AIFF. Firewire cabling is the stock Metric Halo with a 600/800 adapter or a Lacie 800/600 cable. TRS to XLR cabling from Blue Jeans and it is a new cable. The Mini is on it's own (non-dedicated) circuit. My amp and ULN2 are plugged in to the Torus. I am not using any other software other than iTunes for playback.

The ULN2 is not that much more impressive than the Oppo and this is quite disappointing to me. It may be the cable and ULN2 need some break-in time. But I would be amazed if break-in alone results in enough improvement to greatly impress me such that I think it smokes the Oppo. I do notice some differences, but not much. I do notice a bigger overall stage and more vividness but it's not a significant difference. I do not notice much improvement in transparency or frequency response. It does sound better, but it's not dramatic like I was expecting and hoping for.

I am curious if anyone has some suggestions of things I can try to up the performance of the music server and DAC configuration I'm using now. I'm not going to splurge for a SSD drive at this point. I know I need external storage but I wanted to take my time selecting it. I would be willing to try playback software like Pure Vinyl.

Bryan

Dedicated 240V balanced power, Torus RM20-BAL. Mac Mini/Ayre QB-9. LSA Group Signature integrated. Eminent Tech LFT8B speakers. Real Trap and GIK bass traps.

...now that's dangerous fightin' talk in these parts. :-)