IGNORED

Apple G5 Powermac Music Server Question please enlightern me!!

I have recently bought a late 2005 G5 Mac and wish to use this to play my music collection via my hifi

I have the following components

Apple G5

Toslink Cable

Beresford Caiman Digital Audio Converter

I notice the Mac has an optical output what software do I need to exploit this to its fullest and would anyone recommend installing a new soundcard completely

I hope to acheive the best possible sound reproduction via the G5 any help appreciated and software advice to

also as im new to macs and have read a few posts on the site can anyone advise about the best Soundcard this computer has PCI E sockets and is the following model

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP37

I use foobar on my Windows laptop and would like to get the same results or better via the mac

Wayne

Hi Wayne,

I've posted a question about soundcards here because I'm not convinced by the need. The Powermac G5 was the industry standard for mastering commercial releases not so long ago so it has excellent credentials for music use.

I would say that iTunes is the best music library program for Mac OS X. Make sure that you have the latest version of OS X and it's critically important to run the Disk Utility to repair disk permissions, otherwise odd glitches can interfere.

I am experimenting with Pure Vinyl from Channel D sofware. Although it was designed for ripping vinyl at 192 kHz sample rate it also has a really neat music server that integrates with iTunes, with a built in upsampler and memory play.

I'd suggest you rip your red book CDs to Apple lossless and if you download high res files, go for the 24 bit/96 kHz FLAC option. I use XLD to convert FLAC to Apple lossless.

Ralph

The optical output of the Mac G5 should work with no additional software - just select it as the output using the Mac OS X Audio Midi utility.