IGNORED

Computer as Stereo Component

Absolute newb here. Unsuccessfully searched the forums for a while to see if I can find what I'm looking for. I have a fairly nice stereo system - built for both theater and music listening, but leaning towards music: Denon 3808, Def Tech Mythos Supertower speakers - I can stream music through the Denon - but it leaves much to be desired in terms of listening options.

I want to add a computer with my entire music catalog on it. Connect it to my stereo/theater system. I want to fire up iTunes/Rhapsody (or something similar), see it on my TV (for playlist viewing/choosing), have the output from my computer to the stereo be in digital (let me clarify here since I've stumbled across the confusing DAC discussions -- pretty sure I have a DAC with the Denon) - I want CD quality sound or better.

I have plenty of computers - just need to know the essential components that I need to realize this. After I understand the components - I can determine (hopefully with much input from the experts on this forum) - which components will work best for my system (price is a very minor consideration).

Going forward I would like to stream video as well - but not the problem I am trying to solve now.

Thanks!

I am with the person above. I am looking for the same solution. With little kids around the house playing with all my CDs, I want to be able to stream high quality sound without having to worry about the little hands scratching my entire CD collection.

My thought now is to use a dedicated Mac or PC, ripping all my CDs in either FLAC or Apple's lossless audio format and then connecting to my Marantz receiver. If anyone has feedback or suggestions regarding equipment or file formats, I am all ears.

Thanks.

beech07

Chris - Thanks for the reply. I have looked over the designs in the Computer Audiophile Academy. Cool stuff and it has helped to increase my very basic knowledge of computer audio, etc.