Sign in to follow this  
PaulF

Help me pick a music server

Rate this topic

I've been doing computer audio for 12 years but have never owned a dedicated server.  As of now, I use a Mac Mini into a microRendu into an Auralic Vega.  There are two reasons I want to try a dedicated music server:

- The Mini/mRendu combo can't make use of the Vega'a Exact clock mode.  No matter what I do, there are drop outs.  I MUST have a solution that allows Exact mode to work with 0 dropouts.

- I suspect that even better sound quality may be available via a dedicated server.  If I can improve my digital playback just a bit more it will be on par with my vinyl setup with analog jazz recordings and I would love that.

I would somewhat prefer keeping & using my existing hard drives but am Ok using nothing but internal drives in a new server as well.

I'm looking at Aurender for now.  What else should I consider?

I should also ask a question: Will I actually get sound quality than with a Mini/mRendu combo?

(Adding the microRendu to the mix caused a giant leap in performance above the tweaked, SSD, 16 Gb Mini alone...)

For $4k, any reason why you can't go this route?

https://www.computeraudiophile.com/forums/topic/30376-a-novel-way-to-massively-improve-the-sq-of-the-sms-200-and-microrendu/

• sms-200ultra
  • tx-USBultra
  • NUC for Roon/ROCK server
  • Clock optimized network switch
  • Option for external clock like Mutec

You're going to need a very good LPS though and most LPS out there won't cut it.

Update: After a reset of everything I've had 0 dropouts with Exact mode in a few hours of background music.  So maybe that really is not an issue.

If I go the server route, I don't want a DIY solution, and I want either a one-box solution OR one box + a NAS

Anybody around here happen to go from a Rendu to an Aurender or the like and experience a jump in sound quality?  Without the dropouts, I may actually scrap the plan. :)