IGNORED

Apogee DUET + iTunes, advise about setting sample rate

Hi all.

Hope someone can throw some light on this for me. Firstly, I am TOTALLY new to computer audio and digitally illiterate!

I am using the DUET with iTunes and a MacBook. It is ONLY for audio playback within a hi-end audiophile audio system. All my cd's have been ripped into iTunes in AIFF.

Now this is what I am confused...... there is talk of AudioMidi, Core Audo, Quicktime, iTunes, Maestro ....... and what sample rate should be set where. I only have this set up since yesterday, but my impressions are that using 44/16 the top end is somewhat sterile.... if I change things to 96k in AudioMidi then the top end is a little lifeless. I was under the impression, be it right or wrong that setting to 96k would mean that the original 44/16 would be upsampled to 96/24 and that playback would be enhanced. But listening does not agree with this.

Is there anyone out there using the DUET in a similar situation as I am and I am sure that thre are many... if so how have you got everything set?

Hope that someone can shed some light on this for me.

Thanks in advance to anyone whomay care to help.

DerrO

Hi DerrO - In your specific situation I suggest setting the rate at 16/44.1 because your source material is at 16/44.1. The only time I use upsampling is when it is done by an external DAC. When you change the Audio Midi resolution make sure you close and reopen iTunes because iTunes locks in the resolution in use when the application is opened.

In addition, I don't believe the Apogee DUET supports 24/96 via USB. So, with your Mac set to out put 24/96 you are really taking a 16/44.1 signal then upsampling to 24/96 then sending it to the DAC where is downsamples to 1 6/44.1. If the DUET does any upsampling itself there is a change the music is being upsampled once again. Doesn't sound good to me.