IGNORED

Lots of questions

jc

This is my first post and I am new at this computer audio thing so please forgive me if some of these questions are not the best, but here goes:

A. Ripping

1. Ripping CDs: This seems fairly straightforward -- just stick a CD in the computer and rip to the lossless format of your choice using the program of your choice (itunes or whatever). Is there more to it than that?

2. Ripping SACDs: Is this even possible in the digital domain? I don't know of a computer SACD drive. The only way I know of to do this is connect the line outs of an SCAD player to the line ins of the computer and let the computer digitize it, but that seems to lose the benefit of the SACD. Is there another way?

3. Ripping LPs: What is the best way to do this? I know I could use a USB turntable, but I doubt the table, cartridge and A to D conveter are up to the standards I would like to hear. (My background is Linn, Jeff Rowland Design Group, Magneplanars etc.) NAD makes a phono preamp with a USB out that would allow me to use my own turntable but I am not sure that is the best way to go. I suppose I could go through my preamp into the line inputs of a sound card, but is that better than doing the A to D conversion externally and inputting via USB? Are there other ways (e.g. sound card with phono inputs? RIAA equalization in software?)? What is the best way to preserve the fidelity of analogue?

B. Playback (here is where I am even more confused; I am going to start with what seems simplest to more complicated)

1. SPDIF out to receiver or DAC: Most computers have an SPDIF out as part of the motherboard. You don't even need a sound card. Why not just run toslink or coax to the input of a receiver or DAC and let it do the conversion to analogue? (probably use coax if you believe it has less jitter or put a reclocker in between.) Are there limitations or disadvantages to this that I am not seeing?