IGNORED

Can I just use the DACs in my receiver?

I am new to this and I understand that the recommended solution involves connecting a server to a DAC like the Berkeley which is itself connected to a preamp or poweramp.

I have an Onkyo NR-5007 receiver which apparently already contains 192kHz/32bit Burr-Brown DACs.

Can I just use the receiver as the DAC and feed a digital signal to the receiver by connecting a mac with toslink (or by using a DLNA server, the Onkyo is a DLNA compliant "player" and it can play FLAC files located on a DLNA server). What would be the disadvantage of doing this?

What would be the advantage, if any, of feeding the receiver with a separate DAC which would itself be connected to a mac?

Your receiver, although Onkyo's flagship, is, like any other receiver, built for functionality (quantity of features) rather than the specific quality of 2 channel audio DAC and subsequent analog stage. The $$ invested in that receiver are for nine channel internal amps, HDMI switching, a plethora of audio codec decoding, multichannel DACs, yadayada. It's unlikely that the analog section (power supplies, capacitors, analog output jacks, etc) was heavily focused on when building the receiver. OTOH, the Berkely DAC (as example, since you mentioned it) is built, mainly,for one purpose, two steps...to take a digital signal and convert it cleanly, then send it out very high quality analog outputs.

Both will work, one will do a specific job better. The result will be in the realism of the sound.

... in that regard and comparing it to other available DACs, which is going to be difficult because this kind of equipment (i.e. the receiver) is usually not reviewed from that angle. Comparing it for myself is also going to be difficult. Listening to a DAC setup at a dealer and then comparing it to the Onkyo involves many variables and proceeding from memory.