IGNORED

Am I missing something silly?

Hi folks.

Most of my equipment is pretty new and a very different experience for me compared to anything else I've had (I'm new to this). I'm finding I'm developing an appreciation for types of music I've never listened to before.

I've been lurking on here for a while, learning from you all and got to wondering if there was anything silly that I've missed with my setup; something obvious to you good people that is significantly holding it back. I'm not chasing an upgrade particularly, just looking to see if I've missed something silly.

Used in the main living area for music, movies and TV, I have:

Room: Barn conversion, high vaulted ceilings, no treatment, hand clap reverb around .8 seconds (big room, but my good lady not really wanting it to look like a recording studio!)

Source: Roon on a headless Mac mini, tidal hifi, CD rips, some PCM and DSD hi-res (also occasionally Cambridge CXU and TEAC phono)

DAC: Arcam irdac2, directly via USB

Amp: Yamaha RX A-3050, via cheap but gold plated FosPower RCA leads

Speakers: Dali Opticon 8s front, 6s surround, centre and K14F sub, via 12 AWG speaker wire

Anything obvious that I'm missing, folks?

Thank you

Sent from my iPad using Computer Audiophile

Try adding an indirect connection with a NAA sitting between your Mac Mini and DAC, powered by a low-noise, low impedance power supply. An example of the former is a microRendu and for the latter, an UpTone LPS-1. Should make a positive contribution to SQ.

Are you the famous Gareth Davies, principal flautist for the LSO? If so, you autographed my copy of your book on the history of the LSO a few years ago. Welcome to CA. Larry

Analog-VPIClas3,3DArm,LyraSkala+MiyajimaZeromono,Herron VTPH2APhono,2AmpexATR-102+MerrillTridentMaster TapePreamp

Dig Rip-Pyramix,IzotopeRX3Adv,MykerinosCard,PacificMicrosonicsModel2; Dig Play-Lampi Horizon, mch NADAC, Roon-HQPlayer,Oppo105