IGNORED

Will an external DAC bring back bass response and dynamics?

catbox

I'm fairly new to PC audio, so I have a lot to learn. My current issue is playback of my music files (FLAC). They noticeably lack in bass when compared to the CDs they were ripped from. The lack of low end also has a great impact on the dynamics of some music. I'm hoping it's the limits of the laptops sound card and that an external DAC will resolve the issue. For now, I'm just running a "Y" cable from the headphone out to the preamp. I do hear electronic noise in the background and I kind of expected to considering the sound source but I didn't expect to hear the low end take such a backseat

If it helps in anyway -

I'm running foobar and musicbee from an HP laptop into an Adcom GFP 555 preamp, Adcom GFA 555 amp and out to B&W 801s. CD player is Onkyo 7030.

thanks in advance for any guidance

Welcome to the rabbit hole! [emoji195] I think an external DAC will help, for sure. You can go low $ to learn about the ins and outs by getting an Audioquest Dragonfly or similar, but with your associated equipment you would benefit from spending a little more. Look at iFi nano, micro series as the next level up. Then you can think about spending $1000s on a really high quality DAC. Sky's the limit!

Sent from my iPad using Computer Audiophile

Thanks for the response.

I'm sure an external DAC will benefit the sound even if it only eliminates the "noise" in the background. This was my 1st attempt at piping music files through the main stereo so I'm sure there is much I can do to improve what I'm hearing. As of right now, things just don't sound right to my ears.