IGNORED

Devices not accessible from new switch

I am no expert in networking, as the following question will probably reveal, but I am stuck.

For some time I have been using an Apple Airport Extreme as a switch (bridged mode) in my audio rack; the AAE is connected to a cable from the router in the basement, feeding three devices. Now I need more connections. So I bought a switch, TrendNet TEG SE50g. I ran an ethernet cable from the AAE to the new switch and connected three devices to it.

The front panel lights on the SE50g indicate that the connections are active, at the speeds I expect. I can ping the switch. The three devices connected to the new switch do not show up in Fing (on my iPad), nor can they be accessed in other ways (by logging in from a web browser, for instance). FWIW, the two devices connected directly to the AAE are working properly, and I can ping the AAE.

Suggestions?

Can you sketch out how this is all connected? Why is the AAE in bridged mode? Usually the Cable or DSL modem would be bridged or routed mode.

If Cable/DSL is in bridged mode the AAE would be in routed mode. If Cable/DSL is configured as a router the AAE would be configured in Access Point mode and in AP mode nothing connected on it's WAN port.

Thank you, plissken. There is a box thing in the basement where Verizon FIOS comes into the house. From there an ethernet cable goes to an Actiontec router (supplied by Verizon). The router handles all the DHCP addressing etc. From the router a cable goes up to the listening room. I turned off DHCP in the Airport Extreme since I don't want it assigning addresses; that's what I mean by bridged mode (maybe I'm using the wrong term).

I have had the cable coming out of the wall plugged into the AE ever since I bought it and it has worked correctly (and continues to do so with the two components plugged into the AE). It's just that the components plugged into the new/additional switch aren't found on the network.