IGNORED

Which music controller would anyone suggest?

Westlower

Hi was thinking to use on a Rpi 3 / HIFIBerry Digi + pro (with a nice Linear power supply)

feeding into my (posh) USB/SPDIF converter and on to my (posh) DAC

I want to play music from my
NAS drive
(synology) and
TIDAL High Res Streaming

Which controller would anyone suggest?

I am not a Techie! at all!

and I would like to use the apple iPad and an iphone to use remotely..

Any suggestions please??

Yes Roon looks great but, if I understand correctly, it has to run from an additional computer and then put Bridge on the RPi...I Don't want another computer in the chain. My NAS Synology drive is a basic model and can't accomedate the Roon Server

Pretty sure the first suggestion you'll get on this site is Roon. It's pretty great, check it out.

I swear by iPeng. Not free but worth the nine bucks to me for such a great UI compared to the other free ones (Kazoo, Lumin, etc).

SERVER CLOSET (in office directly below living room stereo):NUC 7i5BNH with Roon ROCK (ZeroZone 12V on the NUC)>Cisco 2690L-16PS switch>Sonore opticalModule (Uptone LPS 1.2)>

LIVING ROOM: Sonore opticalRendu Roon version (Sonore Power Supply)> Shunyata Venom USB>Naim DAC V1>Witchhat DIN>Naim NAP 160 Bolt Down>Chord Rumor 2>Audio Physic Compact Classics. OFFICE: opticalModule> Sonore microRendu 1.4> Matrix Mini-i Pro 3> Naim NAP 110>NACA5>KEF Ls50's. BJC 6a and Ghent Catsnake 6a JSSG ethernet; AC cables: Shunyata Venom NR V-10; Audience Forte F3; Ice Age copper/copper; Sean Jacobs CHC PowerBlack, Moon Audio DIN>RCA, USB A>C. Isolation: Herbie's Audio Lab. 

Ok, one step at a time. Like so many other of technology's promises, actually getting there can be a long road indeed.