IGNORED

Exogal drops the other shoe . . .

I'm relatively new to CA and a happy owner of an Exogal Comet DAC. Exogal is a company in MN whose principals come from Wadia. The company's website is nothing to write home about, but I've gotten outstanding customer service from Jeff Haagenstad, the CEO, and I have the feeling that these guys are really serious about changing the digital audio game. The DAC has received excellent reviews and can be had for just over 2K.

They've recently released an amp (the "Ion") to match the DAC. Its a diminutive thing, 100wpc, and sits on top of the Comet. It seems like a class D amp (small and cool) but it's not exactly that either. I don't know what it is or how it works, but this long and over the top review will give you a sense of Exogal's aspirations: http://www.dagogo.com/exogal-ion-powerdac-review

I thought members of this forum would find these developments interesting . . .

I'm pleased enough with the DAC to be tempted, but others may see downsides (like the Ion only works with the Comet). Exogal seems to be out to break the mold in high end audio.

How does this differ from NAD's Direct Digital products like the M2 (which has been around for years) and the upcoming M32 (shipping in a few weeks!) which I believe are both powerdacs like the Exogal?

The reviewer mentions the M2 in the article but then seems to dismiss it because NAD later released the M12/M22 separates.

The technology in general doesn't seem to me to be unique. I think there are a few other units doing something similar on the market, as this sounds like some kind of PWM power dac, with a filter at the output to convert the signal to analog.

As for whether you should buy it, I'd ask you a couple of questions:

How happy are you with the DAC? Can you see yourself living with it for a long time? No upgrade-itis on the horizon?