IGNORED

Bought a new reciever.

Can anyone help me and let me know what kind of cable would I need to connect my laptop to me receiver it has an ethernet port. Receiver model is Onkyo 8140 someone has to know I'm new at the audiophile game thanks.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Computer Audiophile mobile app

Congratulations on your new receiver, looks great. The ethernet port is to stream via the internet and your local network. To connect your PC you need an adapter to convert USB to SPDiF. I use an Asus Xonar U7 soundcard, less than $100 on Amazon and it is FANTASTIC! You plug your USB cable into the soundcard and there is a port to plug in a digital coax cable which you can plug into your receiver.

https://www.asus.com/Sound-Cards/Xonar_U7/

Depends on what ports your laptop has on it. Does it have a coax or optical SPDIF jack? If it is a Mac, then the headphone jack typically doubles as an optical SPDIF port.

If not, then you can connect the receiver to your home network router using an Ethernet cable or connect via WiFi and you can stream music via DLNA. You can also put music files on a USB stick and plug it into the front Ethernet port.

If your laptop supports Bluetooth, then pair the receiver with it and that is probably the quickest way to get started streaming.

That receiver has everything except a USB port for digital streaming to the DAC section, which surprises me. With all the options on that unit, fortunately the user manual for that unit is pretty thorough.

Thanks friend but I'm looking for connection from my laptop to my Onkyo receiver.

If you are going to connect by cable your laptop has a USB out but your receiver lacks a USB in. That soundcard will allow you to connect your laptop to your receiver. Read page 10 and 11 in the manual:

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Audio_Card/Xonar_U7/E11108_XonarU7_V2_WEB_only.pdf