IGNORED

problems with XLD on Mac

I'm new to the Mac, and I'm trying to rip some audio CDs using XLD. It starts up and rips one track, and then gives an error, saying it can't read any of the other tracks. OS X can't see the audio disc any more either, as though the drive has ejected itself. This is an LG external USB drive. The drive door won't open, either, as if it's stuck in some usage state.

I tried ripping some of the same CDs, with the same drive, via iTunes, and it works fine.

Any idea what could be wrong and what to look for?

I'm new to the Mac, and I'm trying to rip some audio CDs using XLD. It starts up and rips one track, and then gives an error, saying it can't read any of the other tracks. OS X can't see the audio disc any more either, as though the drive has ejected itself. This is an LG external USB drive. The drive door won't open, either, as if it's stuck in some usage state.

I tried ripping some of the same CDs, with the same drive, via iTunes, and it works fine.

Do you have sufficient free space in the directory which was selected for resulted files? I use XLD for long time, the only case I have error message is when there no space left in destination directory. However, I do not rip CDs with it, only transfer files from one format to another.
Do you have sufficient free space in the directory which was selected for resulted files? I use XLD for long time, the only case I have error message is when there no space left in destination directory. However, I do not rip CDs with it, only transfer files from one format to another.

Yes, there is space.

Anyway, ripping to the same drive with iTunes works fine on all tracks, while ripping with XLD stops after one track (on a couple different CDs I tried).

Also when XLD crashes it leaves the drive in a bad state (not recognized by the OS) so this seems to indicate an optical drive I/O problem.

Mike