IGNORED

Advice on Network Radio (inc BBC streams)

I'm am a near complete novice in this area so please forgive very basic questions.

What is best PC or Linux application to both play and record radio streams?

At the moment I have JRiver, anything better/preferable?

Also can someone recommend the best BBC stream urls, esp Radio3 and 320 Kbps?

At the moment I can get some 128 streams to work, but the 320 stream doesn't seem to work, in JRiver at least. Bearing in mind they are a public service broadcaster, the BBC seem remarkably coy about publishing URLs. As I vaguely recall there was some issue about this a year or two back?

Some good proms concerts coming up that I'd like to record in best quality.

Thanks

Indeed, it has been about 18 months since the BBC changed their internet radio broadcasts to using HLS AAC. This does allow them to provide several streams of varying bitrates, the highest of which is ~320 kbps AAC, for all of their national radio stations (so not just Radio3). However, not only does the receiving device need to support HLS AAC streams, the higher bitrate streams are only available to receivers on UK IPs. Also, even the lower bitrate streams can sometimes be blocked to non-UK receivers depending on the content's copyright conditions (eg some live sports broadcasts).

The BBC do still provide a fallback 128 kbps mp3 stream for their radio stations. They did also keep the old 320 kbps mp3 Radio3 stream going for a few months after the change to HLS AAC, but that service has now long gone.

So, assuming you are on a UK based IP and can run a receiver that supports HLS AAC, you should be able to get the 320 kbps BBC radio streams. The most up to date source of UK & Irish internet radio stream info I know is on the radiofeeds.co.uk site - see the 'UK Other Formats (inc HLS)' section for links to the BBC HLS AAC streams:

UK and Irish Radio Stations broadcasting on the Internet