IGNORED

Can MIDI information be transferred between different DAW's and different sets of plug-ins?

Hi! Can MIDI information be transferred between different DAW's and different sets of plug-ins?

I will be collaborating on a project with a friend soon and we would like to be able to work fluidly over Skype or in the same room at times. He as a Mac, I have a PC; he has Logic, I have Cubase; he has built in plug-ins, I have EastWest Symphonic Orchestra. We have different set-ups for different reasons, but is there an effective way that we can be working on the same thing at the same time? Basically, if I had a virtual trumpet track with MIDI info on it, would I be able to export that and send it to him so he could load that MIDI info onto a virtual trumpet track of his own? Not so much concerned with the difference in sound quality between the plug-ins, but about the connectivity of the MIDI info. I'm new to ALL this, so thanks in advance!

If you were both using Cubase then there are certainly ways to properly collaborate in real-time on projects using 'VST Connect'. Not so sure that the possibilities are the same when different DAWs are used.

MIDI information can be freely exported and imported between DAWs, as can audio parts, so the short answer is yes for the basic music info and audio parts.

The most basic method is to export the midi files and share them to each other.

PS: this isn't the best place to ask about audio production, the gearslutz website is full of helpful pros.

;-)

Hi! Can MIDI information be transferred between different DAW's and different sets of plug-ins?