IGNORED

Trying to decide -- Brooklyn or separate DAC/headphone amp

Relative newbie here, trying to decide between the following configs to use with HD800s cans and a Roon endpoint...

a) Brooklyn DAC using onboard headphone amp, or

b) TBD DAC with something like the Burson Soloist

Assuming I pick a DAC that makes option b the same $$$ as option a, is there a significant benefit to seperating out the two workloads? Would a dedicate Burson amp provide better sound over the Brooklyn internal amp?

Relative newbie here, trying to decide between the following configs to use with HD800s cans and a Roon endpoint...

Assuming I pick a DAC that makes option b the same $$$ as option a, is there a significant benefit to seperating out the two workloads? Would a dedicate Burson amp provide better sound over the Brooklyn internal amp?

One argument can be that DACs will continue to change every so many months or years and become obsolete rather quickly, but a good amp will always be a good amp. However, an all-in-one can get you the most for your money at the moment.

Check out the Ayre Codex. It is the best deal for a high performing all-in-one that I have come across. In my setup it replaced the more expensive Ayre QB-9DSD dac + an $1800 tube-hybrid amp. The Codex uses the same stage to drive either the dac output or the headphones. In the end the Codex was a remarkable dac that sounded significantly better through the tube amp than the Qb-9. What I did not expect is that I would prefer the headphones (Audeze LCD-3F) directly through the Codex than through the tube amp. I just recently sold that amp because I saw no reason to keep it.

I took the Codex to head-fi meet where there was quite a bit of exotica. I borrowed an HD800 to tryout with the Codex and it was just an obscenely good combination. I am now looking to pick up an HD800 to complement my Audezes. If you audition a Codex, makes sure it is using the balanced output mode.