IGNORED

Poll: Do design aesthetics matter to you for audio?

Do design aesthetics enter in to your audio equipment decisions?  

75 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I have enjoyed looking at the photos Chris has posted from the recent High End 2016 show and I thought to myself that, given the audiophile and industry audience of the show, there was some pretty ugly equipment among the gems.

There is a saying in the food world, something like "you eat with your eyes first", I believe that there is a grain of truth in a possible correlation "you listen with your eyes first." I am an architect and like to think that I have an eye for good design. I though it would be interesting to get other members opinions on the matter.

I am not thinking of ergonomics here, whether a button is in the right place, or the display reads well.

There is no right or wrong answer, aesthetic taste is as personal as taste in music!

Hopefully we can have a good discussion, and fun, calling another member's equipment ugly is not tantamount to calling their mother ugly! :)

Jim

While I appreciate that the WAF is important in many homes, it is irrelevant in mine as I live alone. I don't really care what the equipment looks like as long as it can be physically accommodated in my setup. Sound quality is all important. If it looks good too that's a plus, but not one that would influence my purchase choice. In any case, what one person considers ugly may be aesthetically pleasing to another.

"Relax, it's only hi-fi. There's never been a hi-fi emergency." - Roy Hall

"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." - William Bruce Cameron