IGNORED

creating two networks at home using one ISP account?

I'm not an expert on home networking so please forgive me. With the proliferation of internet connected devices like TVs, our blue-ray player, and now my Aries streamer I'm wondering if it's possible to have these devices running on a wired/wire-less network that's "isolated" from a network that we can use with laptops and desktops.

Am concerned mostly for security reasons b/c I can use Firewall software with laptops/desktops but clearly can't with home theater devices. Am also concerned re: privacy....not sure what companies like Samsung, Oppo and Aurelic (and others) are monitoring on my network since they clearly have the ability to push firmware and software updates to their devices.

I currently have firewalls set up on my router however I"m not sure that would stop a company from planting monitoring software somewhere on my network.

Is there a relatively easy way to address this concern? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

QNAP TS-251-->Netgear GS116 Switch--->Asus router--->wireless to Aurelic Aries--->USB to NAD M51--->Bryston B135--->Thiel CS 2.7 speakers

• 2 weeks later...

You can achieve this by creating VLAN's on your internal network.

VLAN1: 192.168.1.0/24

VLAN 2 192.168.2.0/24

Each will have its own default gateway (*.1 or *.254 are generally accepted as good practice). They will both have the same external IP as supplied by your ISP and both subnets will be natted to the internet

VLANS are designed to segment traffic between subnets so broadcast rubbish does not pollute them and are not a great idea if security is your main objective but for your business case, it will be OK to use VLANs for this purpose.