IGNORED

Baffling PC/DAC Audio problem

Hi all , this has me baffled , so I am seeking advice

I am using a ASUS desktop PC W7 64

Using same USB Port, same USB cable, same DAC - HRT Musicstreamer HD that I have been using trouble free for at least 2 years

Starting yesterday - Audio sound starts to crackle and breakup- ( sounds like bad radio static) volume drops then no audio

Unplug the cable from DAC and plug in again- no lights at all on DAC ( no power ?)

Switch to USB port on the back of PC- everything OK

This morning switched back to the problem port - worked fine for 2 hours, then same crackle and breakup of sound

Is it just the USB port on the way out, or a M/B issue?

Have tried restarts and also System restore

Any help appreciated

Michael

Download two apps.

USBtreeview & USBDeview . Identify the port which is giving the problem, and note the other ports which are connected to the same hub.

If the problem is with another port on the same hub, the hub is broken. Find another hub on the computer and use that instead.

If the problem is the one port , then don't use that port, but depends on what's wrong, it may cause a short and take out more than you want. Windows will also report the mA draw for that port or hub, so will the other utilities.

AS Profile Equipment List        Say NO to MQA

Thanks One and a half - Had a quick look at those D/L's

Your suggestion is quite possibily the answer - and maybe beneficial ( if slightly inconvenient)

Taking the case side cover off, I see that the front ports are fed from MB with about 2ft of standard USB cable,

whereas the 2 ports on the rear of the case are surface mounted to MB

It seems to me that it is possible that the rear ports may sound better than the front ports, by way of avoiding that 2ft of cheap standard cable

Will require a rethink of cabling and DAC positioning, but it may be a blessing in a mask... :)

Thanks

Michael