IGNORED

Suggestions for inexpensive solutions to connect pc to home stereo via wifi

alhambra

I'm just getting started on a project to convert my cd collection to flac files and have found lots of helpful info here on the ripping process. However, I'm still having some trouble understanding all the hardware options. Eventually (2-3 years), I will probably change/upgrade all my equipment, but for the moment I just hope to be able to put together something that works and sounds ok with my existing equipment and keep the cost of whatever I have to buy under $250 if possible.

I am looking for a wifi solution because my desktop computer sits in my office, about 20ft from the family room where the stereo resides. My computer is new and has 802.11ac built in. My stereo is driven by a Rotel RX-1052 receiver. This unit has a "computer" input on the back which is an RJ45 connection. All other connections are RCA. Right now, the only music I have is my cd collection, so I don't need hardware that supports high resolution files. It sounds like I also need a USB DAC to improve the sound quality of the music coming from the pc.

I found one product that seems to be a match - Audio Engine W3. Will this actually meet my needs? I have seen a lot of positive reviews of this brand, but would love to hear about other options to consider.

Thanks in advance for the help!

I'm going to chime in here, just to be included in notifications on this thread.

I'm probably the least technical member of CA, but you may have trouble doing this for $250. Wireless USB might work but I don't know if it would handle all the data. You can also buy USB extenders (wired) that reach 30 feet.

The Dragonfly DAC may be what you could use to go from USB to your amp.

http://www.amazon.com/AudioQuest-DragonFly-Converter-Discontinued-Manufacturer/dp/B00882U782

May want to explore using the Jitterbug filter with this also.

http://www.audioquest.com/jitterbug/jitterbug