IGNORED

Guidance for a newbie in search of a DAC

Hey there one and all. I have to admit I'm fairly new to the computer audiophile world. While I've certainly had an appreciation for hi resolution CD's and quality LP's, it was only recently that I discovered the computer side of things could go hi-fi! Damn that iTunes... LOL

At this time, I'm in search of a quality DAC to accompany my system. My estimated budget is capped at $3,000. My preference is something clsoer to the $1,000 range. But, I'm willing to spend the extra if it really will deliver the bang! My system will rely on digital sources from my disc transport, a Wadia 170i, and my Mac - possibly a MacPro or a mini.

In search of the most prudent choice of a DAC, I've done some research. I've seen reviews on a number of products, and have interest in the following currently released products:

Ayre acoustics qb-9

Berkeley Audio Design Alpha DAC

Weiss DAC2

Bel Canto DAC3

I'm also interested in an upcoming DAC by Wyred 4 Sound. From what I can gather, it will be based upon the 32 bit Sabre chip.

Any thoughts, comments, input, or suggestions on this would be greatly appreciated. I'm most interested in getting the biggest bang for my buck. Thus, if I can get 90% of euphoric bliss for under $1,500, I'd happily choose that over spending $2,000 or even $3,000 for the extra 5-10%. And I'd still likely do the same if I only can get 80-90% bliss for under $1,500.

Thanks in advance for any response.

Jonathan

Jonathan[br]-------------------[br]Still finding my way, but soaking it all up like a sponge!

"Ayre acoustics qb-9

Berkeley Audio Design Alpha DAC

Weiss DAC2

Bel Canto DAC3"

This is only one man's opinion.

I think I could live quite happily with any of the top three on your list, and for a long time.