IGNORED

M-Audio BX5 D2

as a total newbie to computer audio(phile) I would like to have your opinion on M-Audio BX5 D2 studio monitors.

First question: are they OK as desktop speakers? I'm not a musician, so I would use them as "normal" speakers connected to via iMac via a FiioX3 2nd in DAC mode.

Second question: which is the best way to connect the Fiio to the speakers? the Fiio has a mini-jack line out, while the speakers have a XLR input and a TRS ("full" jack?)

here is a picture of the back of the speaker:

BX5-back.jpg

thank you!

I had the previous version of the BX5a. They were pretty good until I got the dreaded capacitor problem. First they hum, and it gets louder and louder until they quit altogether or you replace the power supply caps. A common problem with Maudio. Don't know if they have fixed this in the D2 version.

I replaced them with JBL LSR305 speakers:

http://www.amazon.com/JBL-Studio-Monitor-Interfaces-Laptops/dp/B00JFN3KLY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1458868508&sr=8-2&keywords=lsr305

These not just better. Not just lots better. They are in a whole different league. They offer true high quality sound within their size limitations. They also get along much better than the Maudio if you don't have a subwoofer. And I say this as someone whose regular big system speakers are Soundlab electrostats.

As for connection of these or the Maudio, you can get adapters going from the Fiio mini jack to XLR connectors. The link above includes two speakers, plus the adapter cable you need for the Fiio plus other cables for conventional connection to a preamp or other audio interface. Normally these LSR305s are $130 a piece though sometimes you see sales for a few bucks less. So they are practically giving you the cable you need.