IGNORED

Multichannel Musicservers (Hardware)

Hello everyone,

I am new in this wonderful world of Computer audiophile.

I am a great mc fan an own more than 100 great mc Albums, all ripped and in FLAC and DSD (DSF) available.

There are so many new Hardware Musicservers and DAC´s out for sale, but there is heardly any Information about there ability to Play multichannel files.

Can anybody provide a list of Musicservers and DAC which are capable to Play mc.

Thank you

Burkhard

Generally, music servers are agnostic when it comes to number of channels. It's the music players and the DACs that are the limiting factor.

I have a full multichannel setup and can play them in the following:

Minimserver, UPnP Open Home control point (Kazoo, for example), exaSound Playpoint renderer and exaSound e28 DAC

Same as above except MPD (instead of UPnP and Minimserver) and local storage in Playpoint

JRiver and JRemote into exaSound e28

HQplayer/NAA into exaSound e28 (any of my NAAs can be involved, including Playpoint or WS2012R2 Caps Carbon with JCAT card)

JRiver, DLNA or HQplayer into stacked Mytek Stereo 192 DACS (using USB hub)

HQPlayer into Merging NADAC (via ethernet)

Net/net, players like HQPlayer and JRiver are multichannel friendly, as are renderers like Playpoint (exaSound only). I believe Audirvana +(Mac) is also multichannel friendly. DACs include a prototype stack setup of Myteks (I reviewed here), the exaSound e28 (I reviewed here), Merging NADAC (just beginning to eval for a review, see Kal's review in Stereophile), Metric Halo LIO8 (PCM only), among others. The DSD database link below has a column for multichannel.

Hello everyone,

I am a great mc fan an own more than 100 great mc Albums, all ripped and in FLAC and DSD (DSF) available.

There are so many new Hardware Musicservers and DAC´s out for sale, but there is heardly any Information about there ability to Play multichannel files.