IGNORED

Assistance needed please

hukeys

Hi,

I am new to this, so hoping someone can please assist. I am not at all tech-savvy, so I might need helpful, EASY info.!I want to set-up a computer-based music library (preferably NOT iTunes). I have a NAS drive, Mac computer and interested in downloading Audirvana (perhaps - based on the reviews, etc.) I also have a CA DAC.

I've done plenty of ripping cd's via iTunes and familiar with that one. Are there other more successful alternatives out there, and if so, what might they be?

I suppose most of my confusion is how I eventually manage to transfer the library to the 2TB NAS and once transferred, how I make the link with Audirvana, so that I can listen to the library streamed to something like AirPlay.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.Thanks.

XLD is a wonderful Mac based program you can use to rip your CDs. I use it and am very pleased with it. Be sure to embed the cover art with XLD, it will make your life easier.

Once you have ripped everything, you could create a folder on your NAS called MUSIC and place the albums there.

It is helpful to organize your ripped music in the following manner, \Artist Name\Album Name.

Thus on your NAS the folder structure would be:

\Music\Artist Name\Album Name

Just some general guidance. Are you ripping them in AIFF format?

If you use XLD you can also configure it to store the ripped albums on your NAS as part of the ripping process.

Just some tips to start you off.

Silver Circle Audio | Roon | Devialet | Synology | Vivid Audio | Stillpoint Aperture | Auralic | DH Labs

Thanks very much for the quick reply. I actually have XLD on my Mac; oddly enough, I've only ever used it to convert FLAC to AIFF for iTunes. It will show how little I know about all this; I never knew that XLD could also be used to rip cd's! What you have described, all looks easy enough. I assume that after ripping them, they will appear as a library (similar to iTunes, is that correct?)