IGNORED

Synology v FreeNAS

As are most of us I am sure, I often think about the integrity of my backups, which leads often to the allure of ZFS file systems and then to FreeNAS. What has kept me away from FreeNAS is my very limited knowledge of how to operate a NAS. I own an ioSafe 1515+ which is a Synology 1515+ inside a fire and water proof box. It operates Synology Disk Station Manager which I am able to learn and understand. I don't think it can operate and run with the ZFS filesystem however. I also don't much like the thought of moving my data offsite, considering the contents of some of it.

Does anyone here run FreeNAS, how easy or difficult would it be to learn for a complete noob (me)? Is this thing a good price and value for money? How much RAM would this thing need realistically to run with the maximum amount of storage and the ZFS file system? if I backed it up to the fire and water proof ioSafe would those backups retain the data integrity of the FreeNAS and ZFS combination?

Amazon.com: FreeNAS Mini - Network Attached Storage (24TB): Computers & Accessories

ioSafe 1515+

No electron left behind.

I think you can use BTRFS with your synology. While I haven't used BTRFS (rather ZFS) my good understanding is that they are largely equivalent. You may need to backup the Synology. Convert the underlying filesystem to BTRFS and then restore the data.

Custom room treatments for headphone users.

I think you can use BTRFS with your synology. While I haven't used BTRFS (rather ZFS) my good understanding is that they are largely equivalent. You may need to backup the Synology. Convert the underlying filesystem to BTRFS and then restore the data.

A quick check shows that Synology Disk Station Manager does support btrfs (which I did not know about) but not on my device until DSM 6.0 comes out from Beta.

No electron left behind.