IGNORED

Stuttering audio after upgrading to windows 10.

Starre

I have been using Windows 10 for a few months now but I still got problems with stuttering sound. I never had this issue with Windows 8.1. I do not know what to do, I have disabled Defender and Windows updates and such but it does not go away.

Sometimes it plays for hours without problem and then suddenly it is back again. Maybe I should go back to Windows 8.1....

Check out Fidelizer - You can download a "free" version and it basically optimises your system, by shutting down unnecessary services. Maybe, it will be the solution to your problem and you can use it together with JRiver...

Sent from my iPhone using Computer Audiophile mobile app

I use JRiver V.19 something. Shutting off services maunally does not help. Maybe Fidelizer could be it.

I think you might need to uninstall it then reinstall it. My brother utilizes that version and had similar problems. So he uninstalled Jriver and then 're installed it, viola it now works fine.

Sent from my SM-T113 using Tapatalk

Fidelizer has features to change timer resolution of Windows from 15.6ms to 0.5ms. That usually solve stuttering issues without a risk as described by mojave here.

Last week I tried the trial of Tidal. Streaming the lossless audio was giving me some dropouts and pops regardless of JRiver settings. I tried using Fidelizer in Network Streaming mode and it allowed me to set the JRiver Live Playback Latency to minimum and buffering to either something less than 50 ms (I can't remember the exact setting). I had no more dropouts/pops with Tidal. Audio with ripped music did not sound any different. I'm still experimenting.

Quote from: windowsx on January 20, 2015, 12:21:27 pm