IGNORED

Advice for a newbie migrating to digital

rhimbo

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in the world of digital audio. I thought I'd post this question here as the DAC forum seems to have a deeper level of detailed discussions. But please feel free to direct me to another forum if appropriate.

I would like to have some basic ability to do DAC in order to play music on my "legacy" Carver system. My goal is to move to audiophile digital, but I want to do my homework and not jump in to the world of digital uneducated or uninformed. Until that time, I'd like to be able to do the following:

- Play my CDs without having to buy a new CD player (my old Carver SD/A 360 CD player died recently).

- Play music from digital sources from the Internet

I have the following:

- An Apple SuperDrive (Blu-ray/DVD/CD external drive).

- Carver TFM-15CB amp and CT-23 pre-amp

- Acoustic Research AR-9 loudspeakers (yes, that's right, original owner, ORIGINAL model AR-9s from the '70s).

Many thanks for any discussion, advice, direction and so forth....

Well, you will need a DAC. I would say one with a USB input. You will need a computer. Do you have one and do you prefer Linux, Mac or Windows?

Here is a for instance possibility. A Mac Mini, which could use your Apple Superdrive for CD's played to a DAC via USB. Then the output of the DAC goes into the pre-amp of the rest of your system. In time you may wish to rip your CD's to digital files on a hard drive. Your superdrive would be fine for doing that.

Another possibility is a streamer appliance, and using Tidal for streaming full CD quality audio. Don't use your own music, but have access to millions of songs. Others can provide better advice on streamers than I can. You might read the article on the main page about the Chrome Cast Audio which will let you get your feet wet for $35. Probably money well spent just to learn where you might wish to head for the next step into the digital world.