IGNORED

Qnap: Ts251

Hi,

Apologies if this has been discussed, - a search didn't show an adequate answer. I am about to pull the trigger on 4GB version of the TS251. My plan is to use one of the Ethernet ports to connect with optical directly to my NAA.

My non-audiophile colleagues are taking the piss for what they call overkill on the 4GB model. (I am an IT infrastructure manager). I have about 31,000 songs AIFF on my current Iomega NAS which the QNAP will be replacing.

The QNAP is going to be in another room 30FT from the audio rack. And, - I'm not going to use the video distribution features. But I am thinking of installing LMS and possibly HQPlayer.

Already, it's getting expensive with 4GB and 2 WD 3 TB drives, - but I am wondering if you all think that I should buy even more RAM and load it up with 8GB? Especially considering the RAM looks like it's a PITA to install.

Sorry for the long ramble leading up here, but there's a significant body of compelling evidence (in my mind) that overkill on RAM and processor speed yields better SQ. I have a friend who has installed LMS on his Synology NAS with 512 MB RAM with a similar size library and it is failing miserably.

The new QNAP TS251 is a sweet little NAS device. :) However, if you happen to have a spare PC of just about any stripe, and it has a nice fast processor in it and a reasonable amount of RAM, it is likely to serve you better.

While I don't hear any *audible* difference between NAS or networking devices, I do understand that other people have heard differences. What I do find almost unbearable is the agonizingly slow response speed of some NAS devices, and the terrifically slow copy speeds.

-Paul

Anyone who considers protocol unimportant has never dealt with a cat DAC.

Robert A. Heinlein