IGNORED

Need help finding a solution for my husbands DVD collection

Hi all,

I realize that this is not in relation to CD's or strictly audio but I think this may be the best place to find help. My husband owns 800 DVDs. For a long time he's wanted to find a way to rip them into some sort of hard drive to have easy accessibility to it from his devices. I am sure this question must have been posted previously in regards to DVDs. What I am looking for is the following:

- Fastest external hardware to rip DVDs and Blu Ray. If it can handle multiple disks, even better.

- Fastest way to convert these files to playback for media manager.

- Recommended media manager (external hard drive + system) We currently have an iTV, would we be able to use that connected to a hard drive?

Total novice and I would love to figure this out for my husband so I can give it to him as a Christmas gift. Thank you in advance.

This might not be the best site to find this advice. You might want to try (for example) avsforums.

My own very limited experience was ripping some DVDs for kids, who seem to like to watch movies over and over again, when they are young. I came to the conclusion that most other movies weren't worth the trouble, because I might watch them at most one more time before I die. We decided it would be more cost-effective to rent or purchase movies via Apple and stream them.

I ripped the DVDs manually, one at a time, using a Mac, and Mac DVDRipper Pro: Rip DVDs on your Mac - Free Trial! It lets you do five for free. Ripping blu rays is substantially harder; I have never tried. If you rip a lot of movies, especially blu ray movies, you are going to need a large-scale storage device, like a NAS.

For the price of all that, it might be much easier and less expensive just to rent and stream movies from iTunes or some other provider.

Its not something which is simple to achieve.