IGNORED

HP Mediaserver direct to DAC? Can this be done ?

Hello all. I am a newbie and I have run into some trouble...I think. The following is what I am trying to do:

1) Vista Ultimate 64 laptop connecting to HP Media Server EX487 wirelessly through Linksysy router

2) Access music stored on the server - (using Foobar or J River)- and output from the HP Mediaserver directly to a DAC (MHDT Havana) via one of the USB ports on the HP Mediaserver (EX487). DAC is then connected to my amplifier.

I like this "potential" setup as I could use my laptop to direct music to my stereo via the Mediaserver without having to attach the DAC to my notebook.

My question is whether this is doable ? So far I have managed to get music to the DAC (and then stereo) when attached directly to the notebook via USB but I am having trouble going to the next step. The USB link from the server seems to work with the DAC but I am having trouble getting any output.

I suspect that it's related to the server recognizing the DAC and then having the media player use it as the output device but this seems easier said than done :>)

BTW I am using FLAC, Foobar.

Any ideas ?

Cheers,

Frank

There is no media player in the Windows Home Server and I doubt one can be installed. You'll need some sort of networked media player for your intended scenario. A low-cost PC could be used to drive your DAC via USB and controlled over your network using remote desktop.

Twonky is a media "SERVER" which allows you to send audio to a UPnP (or DNLA) device such as a Linn Sneaky DS.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

No, UPnP client (actually called a UPnP renderer) is a device attached to the network.