IGNORED

High end system but Mac Mini analog outs..... what next?

I am using the Mac Mini/HD as an audio server.

I currently have it hooked up with the standard analog adapter chord using the mini's internal DAC.

All music is AIFF

I own

McIntosh C45 analog preamp (~$4500)

Proceed AMP5 (~$5000)

Mirage HDT speakers (~$6000)

Velodyne HGS15 sub (~$2500)

So I am sure upgrading to a DAC will give me a great benefit in sound.....but I am new to computer based audio and I am curious if something like the devilsound will make a huge difference ($250)

I guess I am asking what should I expect at different price points for DACs with my system.

What does $250 give me? $750? $1000? $3000? in comparison to using the mac mini analog outs.

Samsung 2TB SSD external drive > Oppo 205 USB in > McIntosh C45 > Proceed AMP5 > Mirage HDT Speakers > Velodyne HGS15 Sub // Nordost Blue Heaven Cables, PS Audio Quintet, OWC 2TB Mercury Elite Pro Firewire

Hi,

No experience with macs, well at least for audio, but have tried CA Dacmagic and Beresford with a pc and a couple of laptops and they both provided a huge leap in sound quality. DACs will be subject to the law of diminishing returns just like any other component but I can't tell you where the sweet spot might be in their pricing.

Piers

Laptop - Beresford TC7520 (lightly modded) - Rega Brio3 - B&W602 S3

thanks for the reply.

so even taking a small step up to say a devil sound would be a decent change eh?

i was thinking of baby steps because its not in my budget to drops thousands but i would like to upgrade now...

Samsung 2TB SSD external drive > Oppo 205 USB in > McIntosh C45 > Proceed AMP5 > Mirage HDT Speakers > Velodyne HGS15 Sub // Nordost Blue Heaven Cables, PS Audio Quintet, OWC 2TB Mercury Elite Pro Firewire

While there are a spectrum of solutions, at least in my mind there seem to be 3 price tiers. Here are some options you might consider (note that there are more out there, but here are some popular options).