IGNORED

New John Scofield: Past Present

Anyone else digging this?

Scott's playing and writing imbued with the funky swing of his time with Medeski Martin & Wood (like those albums as well) and the loose jamming' with the Dead bass player's entourage...

Lovano, as a result stays more inside and on edge of altered harmony that other stuff I have with him that falls into the realm that my wife calls "headache jazz"...it's like he's let his hair down! Dude's always wearing a hat, so I meant that figuratively!

Tone with Soul

I am just finishing my first listen through this and a I dig it. I have always loved Sco and have seen him live a few times. I agree that Lovano does seem a bit easier to listen to on this album than a lot of the other stuff I have heard of his. I'm not an expert on him but it does seem that a lot of what I have heard is a bit "cerebral" and takes effort to appreciate.

Roon ->UltraRendu + CI Audio 7v LPS-> Kii Control -> Kii Three

Roon->BMC UltraDAC->Mr Speakers Aeon Flow Open

Seriously good playing by John, Joe Lovano, Larry Grenadier...

Mature, highly original players doing it from the heart.

Like it! Thanks for sharing.

Custom Win10 Server | Mutec MC-3+ USB | Lampizator Amber | Job INT | ATC SCM20PSL + JL Audio E-Sub e110

''Meant to be'' scores pretty good;

[TABLE=class: table table-bordered table-striped, width: 100%]

[TR]

[TH=bgcolor: #F9F9F9]Track DR[/TH]

[TD=bgcolor: #F9F9F9]

[/TD]

[/TR]

[/TABLE]

Strange that as equipment gets better DR. goes down.

'' Meant to Be '' is my favorite with that 4tet. I am very curious about the new album.

Meant_to_Be_John_Scofield.jpg

http://store.acousticsounds.com/detail.cfm?title_id=109837&print=t&n=John_Scofield-Past_Present-FLAC_96kHz24bit_Download