IGNORED

ASIO Driver Query

Iain

I'm new to this, but I've successfully installed and maintained foobar2000 1.3.8 and JRiver MC20 players over the past month. JRiver MC20 is no more.

Currently using the ASIO4ALL ASIO driver as it's the only driver I could find. Not keen of WASAPI, as it sounds inferior to ASIO on my system.

I'm now starting to look at the HQPlayer, but when I started to read the documentation, this came up:

"Special ASIO4ALL driver is also known to work, but is not recommended as it doesn't guarantee specific direct access quality."

... on this page:

Signalyst

Running latest version of ASIO4ALL. What's wrong with this driver and can someone recommend anything else?

I'm new to this, but I've successfully installed and maintained foobar2000 1.3.8 and JRiver MC20 players over the past month. JRiver MC20 is no more.

Currently using the ASIO4ALL ASIO driver as it's the only driver I could find. Not keen of WASAPI, as it sounds inferior to ASIO on my system.

I'm now starting to look at the HQPlayer, but when I started to read the documentation, this came up:

"Special ASIO4ALL driver is also known to work, but is not recommended as it doesn't guarantee specific direct access quality."

... on this page:

Signalyst

Running latest version of ASIO4ALL. What's wrong with this driver and can someone recommend anything else?

Evidently I can no longer edit this post, so I have a follow-on query of the ASIO4ALL driver.

I'm running Windows 7 Professional X64. When I installed the ASIO4ALL driver, it installed the 32-bit version. How can I get it to install the 64-bit version?

ASIO4ALL is ASIO driver emulation wrapper on top of WASAPI or KS. It is not a true ASIO driver talking straight to hardware, but a generic one talking to WASAPI/KS driver (so is stacks two driver interfaces).