IGNORED

To NAS or not to NAS, this is the question!

Hi All,

I'm looking for some advice as I'm no expert when it comes to computers so the thought of setting up a NAS is somewhat daunting. I'm also not convinced that this will give me the best or even the same level of SQ compared to stored music files but this is an assumption.

The reason I'm asking is that I want to set up a 2nd room (actually my main Hi Fi set up) with a DAC & access my music files (currently saved in iTunes but doesn't have to stay in iTunes).

My other system is a 2009 MacMini, into a PS Audio NuWave DAC into a pre etc.etc.. & I'm still having to manage this library separately to the iTunes library on my iMac as I'm not sure how to synch them??

I do have an older Apple TV (1st gen with 160 gig HD) which I was going to use but I started to think, maybe it would be easier to have the one library that I could access from both rooms.

So...how easy it is to set up a NAS? Which NAS do people recommend for a music setup? & would you use iTunes in a IOS setup?

Keen to hear peoples thoughts.

Cheers

Matthew

Man Cave: 2CH: VPI Aries Scout + Hana SL MC Cart > Gold Note PH-10 / PS Audio PW Transport / Innous ZEN Mini Mk 3 (ROON Core) + LPSU > PS Audio DirectStream Jnr > Ayre KX-5 > Rogue Audio M-180 Monoblocks > Dynaudio Focus 380's HT: Sony 4K BD > Sony VW60 > Integra DRX3.1 > Dynaudio X24 Centre + Monitor Audio rears. Family Room: 2CH: Matrix Mini-i 3Pro > Bel Canto Pre3 > Bel Canto REf500s 2CH AMP HT: Sony UHD BD > Denon X4000 > Dynaudio Emit 20 + X22 Centre + in-ceiling B&W's.

Cables & Misc: Man Cave: PAD Musaeus & Antipodes Komako XLR's / Bills Pinnacle Speak Cables / Audio Principe & Voodoo Power Cords + Isotek Aquarius Power Conditioner Family Room: Audio Principe XLR's, Speaker & Power Cables / Elijah USB cables.