IGNORED

Two 3TB drives or one 6TB drive?

I just ordered a two bay QNAP TS-251 and can get two WD Red 3TB drives for only a little less than one WD Red 6Tb drive. Any opinions on whether I would be better off starting with one 6 TB drive and upgrading later, or just getting two 3 TB drives now so I have a somewhat greater degree of back-up protection?

I expect to backup my Cd collection to a USB drive since it will be the most time consuming effort, but its not big enough for some of the other media I expect to save so I will have some data at risk for 6 months to a year.

1) Selah Audio Fedele Speakers (Revel in ceiling surrounds) QNAP TS-251 NAS accessed w/ a Ruku Ultra through SPDIF ipurifier into a Marantz SR7008 A/V receiver.

2) Freya + preamp, Hypex NC400 Amp, Zaph L18 Speakers, Martin Logan Dynamo sub-woofer

Bluesound Node 2 and Pro-Ject Expression w/ AT440mlb.

I just ordered a two bay QNAP TS-251 and can get two WD Red 3TB drives for only a little less than one WD Red 6Tb drive. Any opinions on whether I would be better off starting with one 6 TB drive and upgrading later, or just getting two 3 TB drives now so I have a somewhat greater degree of back-up protection?

I expect to backup my Cd collection to a USB drive since it will be the most time consuming effort, but its not big enough for some of the other media I expect to save so I will have some data at risk for 6 months to a year.

I'd be wary of the WD Red 3TB drives. By some accounts they seem to have a much higher fail rate than the other sizes. Don't know why but I checked several review sources.

Roon ->UltraRendu + CI Audio 7v LPS-> Kii Control -> Kii Three

Roon->BMC UltraDAC->Mr Speakers Aeon Flow Open