IGNORED

Room eq under Ubuntu?

Hi, I am totally new to room EQ and Linux, so I hope this will not be too much for me to chew on. I plan to run Ubuntu as my next music server (currently using Popcorn hour C200) with media store in hard disk. I hope to learn to use some form of room EQ to fix my far from ideal room acoustic problem. Hardware wise I have eye on the Asrock Q2900 itx which is fanless.

Is Ubuntu good choice? And what is a good Room EQ to go with that?

I know I have a lot to learn.

TIA.

• 4 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...
Is Ubuntu good choice? And what is a good Room EQ to go with that?

I know I have a lot to learn.

If you combine learning about room correction with learning how to use Linux, you have a steep slope ahead, indeed :-)

Apart from that, Ubuntu is a well supported distribution with a lot of followers and support, definitely a good starting point for an initial system. Personally I prefer Lubuntu and Xubuntu, because they are slimmer and do not use the aubergine-coloured Unity user interface.

As dallasjustice noted, BruteFIR is one of the few solutions available on Linux for convolution. You should know a little bit about Linux, and especially the use of configuration files, to use it. It's major drawback is that it uses a fixed sample rate (or needs to be restarted every time you play something). If you have source material with varying sample rates, you probably have to think about re-sampling on-the-fly.