IGNORED

Is this Computer Audio 101?

In response to a recent thread asking about the merits of Computer Audio ("CA") vs. CD, I was surprised to note that most of the initial replies cited the convenience of CA over CD but said nothing about relative SQ.

I made the move to CA 5 years ago largely influenced by articles citing the improvements in SQ to be had from ripped CDs playing from hard disk or SS media compared to an optical CD drive. Indeed I found this to be true when comparing (on my Oppo) the same disc ripped and played via network share or thumbdrive vs. the original via the Oppo's optical drive. To me there were noticeable gains in detail retrieval and a sense of "airiness" to the sound which moved a little closer to (for me) the "gold standard" of vinyl.

I have no real technical knowledge, but when first starting out on CA, my understanding for the reason for this was that when ripping a CD, the software (EAC in my case) takes multiple readings of the data and compiles an optimum copy which is then further verified against the accuraterip database of existing optimum copies, vs. CD replay which just has one go at reading the data in real time using a compromised optical/mechanical device.

My question then is whether there is fairly universal agreement that i. ripped CDs do sound better and ii. if so, it's for the reasons as I understand them? A bit more info on what happens when ripping would be interesting too.

Thanks

Whether it's universally known or not depends on your audience. I think it's pretty well known that a bit perfect rip is going to yield better results than a scratched CD. Beyond that, there are many other factors that come into play. While CA can best even a great CD player I would not say that all CA does. In fact a good friend of mine uses his Mac Mini for convenience but for critical listening much prefers his Audio Research CDP even when both played through the same DAC.