IGNORED

Newbie Intro

Newbie David here! This looks like a fun site! I'm 67, live in Alabama, semi-retired and a member of SteveHoffman's Audio site (Folks over there are great & helping me put together a small stereo room.

After I'm thru with the stereo room, I want to update my computer and get it into Audio useable!! I currently have a 5 yr old HP

desktop, Windows 7 (Can't wait for Windows 10), 3 GB ram and 500 GB HD. I also have about 5 external HD's that I switch in and out alot. As for computer sound I have a Samsung SyncMaster 2333hd tv/monitor hooked to my pc and listen to sound thru the monitor speakers (That's right, I'm in the stone age when it comes to computer audio).

I will be needing help since I want to put together a more powerful system for just audio/video and don't know a thing about picking out parts and assembling. I'm willing to spend about $1,000. for the computer and soundcard alone, I can still use the same monitor. I can also spend about $500.00 for computer speakers and maybe a DAC unit!!

I can't get started on this yet (Maybe around Sept.) since I still have the stereo room project to complete!

I like classical, jazz, folk etc and started getting some 24-96 tracks (But nothing to play them on).

Hope this gives some info on me and any replys will be greatly appreciated! DN

Walker Edison 5 Shelf Glass Rack > Pioneer VSX-822k Receiver > Sony BDP-S590 BR Player > Sennheiser HD598

I can still use the same monitor. I can also spend about $500.00 for computer speakers and maybe a DAC unit!!

Can't help but looking it up for you from somewhere else. Please take a look at the following links. :)

Wonder if anyone can confirm whether Audioengine 5+ is really that good or not?

Five Best Desktop Computer Speakers

https://www.avforums.com/threads/how-much-would-i-need-too-spend-to-better-my-audio-engine-a2s.1884054/