IGNORED

i7 4930 K on ASUS P9X79 LE LGA 2011 race horse, recommendations please for over clocking and memory

The experimental goal is to have a PC with minimal latency through a combination of higher CPU clock speed, fast memory and higher mobo clock speed.

Just by chance I had a hex core 4930 K and I just ordered last week an ASUS P9X79 LE LGA 2011 for a desktop gaming machine, which is now going to be pressed into service as a HQ Player desktop machine which will be talking to a HQ NAA

OS is going to be WS2012 + AO

The 4930 K has a TDP of 130 watt, and I am think of using a large Noctura cooler, hopefully with no fan in a tower case. If I have to use a fan, not a big deal as there will be fibre optic Ethernet between the HQ Desktop and the NAA.

So I am looking for suggestions / recommendations for 8GB fast memory, how to select a faster mobo speed, and how to overclock the 4930

I am a complete newbie in this field of fast PC's

Sound Test, Monaco

Consultant to Sound Galleries Monaco, and Taiko Audio Holland

e-mail [email protected]

I think you're way overkill with the processor and overclocking. It's not a game machine. I use a 2ghz 4 core Celeron only topping at 3% while playing back DSD or high res PCM. I think it's better to build a lean cool running machine for music playback.

I did build a dedicated game/work PC and overclocking the CPU by 10% and the video card by 10%.

My Dedicated 2CH System Gallery

Custom C.A.P.S. Reference Music Server with UpTone Audio JS-2 External Linear Power Supply > Bel Canto REFLink Asynchronous USB Converter > AT&T ST Optical Glass Fiber > Bel Canto DAC3.7 DAC > Pass Labs XP-20 Preamp > Pass Labs XA160.5 Class A Mono Blocks > Martin Logan Summit X Speakers

Powered By Balanced Power Technologies - UpTone Audio JS-2 Linear Power Supply - CyberPower Sinewave UPS

No question it's absolutely spec overkill, but the experimental goal is to reduce latency to see if it has a beneficial effect.