IGNORED

is "windows media player" good enough for 44.1 k > USB DAC

hi y'all, I'm new to computer audio. I plan on using my dell laptop (windows 7) to send 44.1k WAV files to a USB DAC and then onto the rest of my stereo system. my question is, since I'm not going to be playing hi-rez files (for now), is windows media player good enough? someone on another forum said something about jriver. though, if jriver doesn't sound any better than windows media player for 44.1 k files then I see no need to switch. thanks for any helpful responses, john

Hi hcsunshine,

And welcome to Computer Audiophile :)

I don't think there is any problem using WMP for listening to music, but when you will feel like it, JRiver may be of interest depending on what you are interested to do (it is much more complete, but it will need some reading to play with).

There is also Foobar2k (Foobar). It is a freeware and it also is very interesting.

But take your time ! As in everything, there are many details that will bring questions... There are much to discover here.

I learned a lot of things, but I started step by step - this is the best way not to get frustrated. After all, it all is for convenience and about music :)

Alain

thanks alaingr for the warm welcome. so, I'm gathering that the playback software itself does not matter so much at least as far as 44.1 k files are concerned...I also was wondering if the amount of RAM one's computer has will have any affect on the sound...thanks again.

thanks alaingr for the warm welcome. so, I'm gathering that the playback software itself does not matter so much at least as far as 44.1 k files are concerned...I also was wondering if the amount of RAM one's computer has will have any affect on the sound...thanks again.

It's like climbing a mountain... If you look up, you may ask yourself if you will have the courage to climb it all the way... If instead you look in front of you, it will not seem as hard to realize :)