IGNORED

Starter investment - advice needed

I happened on this site while investigating computer audio and I am very impressed so far.

I am a Canadian university student (on a student's budget) interested in improving my musical experience. I listen most frequently to my iPod, and have tried Shure e2cs, my father's E530s, and currently some Sennheiser CX-300s, which I like the least of the three (and will be investing in Grado SR-60s for home listening to complement my canalphones). Most of my music is v0 vbr or 320 cbr mp3 in a range of genres: hip-hop, experimental, folk, jazz, classical, and more.

I am really lacking in the stereo department. I have a B&W Zeppelin but that is a living room piece, not a system (and doesn't have access to iTunes, which I like). I spend quite a bit of time on my computer listening to music, but unfortunately my current speaker setup are some 2w speakers (the horror, I know!) I found discarded, out of my sound card. Clearly this is not ideal.

My upgrade would likely be capped at $500 - a pittance in the audiophile world, I know, as my father is one - and therefore the components that have looked most attractive to me thus far are the Devilsound DAC + Audioengine 2 powered speakers. From reading various reviews both these components seem like they are a great value, considering the 'starter' nature of this buy. My main question is with the DAC - I have heard many things about USB being prone to jitter, but I realize at the sub $250 mark there are few options (I will note my system has S/PDIF out, if it matters). Are there any other good value DAC options?

I would appreciate any comments on the above.

Hi nestorius - Welcome to Computer Audiophile! Don't ever worry about justifying your less than system around here. This is a laid back site, no worries.