IGNORED

Managing the iTunes Music Folder on a Primary External Hard Drive and a Backup

I am new to computer audio and before I start to transfer my entire CD collection to a hard drive I wanted to make sure I could do several things that would protect my collection and make it easier to manage it in the near future. I am currently using iTunes on an XP laptop. I also alternatively play music using MediaMonkey. So I use both. However I prefer iTunes' user amenities. I also store my music on an external hard drive and have a second external drive as a backup. In a few months I plan to move to a different laptop with either Vista or Windows 7. So I needed to be able to create an Itunes music repository on an external drive, create and manage an external backup drive, know how to use the backup if my primary disk fails and know how to move my external drive to a different computer if my current one fails or I get a new one. Using Itunes I ripped about 28 different albums making sure I could get all the album art and have them labeled correctly. Then I tried to do all the management tasks I just mentioned. It took a while to figure out exactly what to do and I messed up my muisc and library a few times receiving those iTunes exclamation points more than once. But this was a "beta" test. So here's what I learned and what appears to work for me. I did benefit from reading many posts here but could not find one that specifically addressed all the things I wanted to do. I hope this will be helpful to those in the same situation. Of course if you think I've mistated something or there is a better way to do this please comment. I want to learn as much as I can about iTunes.

Setting Up the iTunes Music Folder on an Primary External Hard Drive and a Backup