IGNORED

Help on ripping WAV to Ipod

Hi, I'm new here and would like to thank George for letting me know about this place.

Scenario: I'm getting an Ipod (I'm new to them but have played around with Ituns ripping)

I've ALREADY ripped what seems like 200 CD's to my hard drive, using Windows Media player. I've ripped as 1141 bit rate, WAV files.

I've made sure to track down the album art and each folder on my hard drive has an artist name, LP name and each song is named.

When I move/convert over to Itunes and then upload to the Ipod I have (and am taking back today for 160g unit), I seem to lose a LOT of that artist information. Most of the album art is now gone and most of the artitst fall into "various artists" or something like that. I've got a handful of actual CD's that look to be organized and TONS of songs that are all lumped into one directory.

Is there anyway that I can update this info without re-ripping, which is NOT a good choice now.

Oh, and I've also been ripping sound tracks of DVD's... one of them , David Gilmour, Meltdown, has a buzz on every song as though they are preventing me from ripping the sound track...any way around that?

Thanks for any help

welcome to Computer Audiophile Coytee!

There could be many things causing all your issues.

WAV files are not the best when it comes to cover art and meta data. I highly recommend AIFF. You could convert them if you really want to and avoid re-ripping.

All of your various artists albums should be resolved by selecting all the songs from one album in iTunes, looking at the properties and telling iTunes the album is not a Compilation. Do this for each album in the various folder. There are other options here, but give this a shot and let us know how it goes.

We'll get this all straightened out.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png