IGNORED

Large CD Ripping Project

My father has 1000+ CDs spanning all genres and I have tasked myself with ripping them to a hard drive. I'm an audio engineer so I have a plan for format of conversion, though I am now considering PhileAudio because it could rip a lossless version and a compressed version from that, also may offer increased efficiency and multi-drive support.

I have the following computers to rip with:

PowerMac G5 (PowerPC, so likely iTunes rip)

MacBook Pro Core2Duo

MacBook Pro i7

iMac i5

Microsoft Surface i5 (if I decide to throw a PC in the mix)

I have ordered one each of these extra drives to try in order to speed the process, was going to stick with brands I know but I went by Amazon rating barring any specific Mac incompatibility:

LG

Buffalo

Coolead

Samsung

Looking to get a 4TB USB 3.0 and Firewire or Thunderbolt drive for lossless storage, should have enough space on the home computer for the compressed collection.

My concept is to have some friends over who like music, bait them with booze and free music, and have a rip party. If anyone has any ideas for organization, workflow or anything else please let me know!

I would recommend that you avoid using iTunes for ripping, since it is not a secure ripper. PhileAudio does not appear to be a secure ripper either.

On Windows, dBpoweramp is always my recommendation, since it does secure ripping and detects the drive's features in the initial setup.

I'm not sure what the best option is for a PowerPC Mac. I might even suggest that you skip the PPC Macs and only rip using the Intel ones.

There is a beta version of dBpoweramp for OS X available now, or you can use XLD.

dBpoweramp on Windows has a multi-encoder that can produce lossless and lossy versions of the tracks at the same time. I'm not sure whether the Mac version offers this yet.