IGNORED

Temporal Confusion

I was reading about Meridian’s MQA and one statement was that it was based on the newest psychoacoustical research but I have not seen any references on what that research is. I anyhow hate claims that something is based on research but without any proof of that. As a scientist I believe that any statement should be verifiable.

Not knowing what Meridian refers to I made some web searches. Almost all of which is not very new research!

1. Frequencies: Humans can hear between 16-24Hz lower limit to 12-24kHz higher limit depending on age, gender, hearing damage. Also dependent on levels see Fletcher-Munson. Bone conduction is often quoted for extended frequencies but I think it is irrelevant for music as it is pitch and pace insensitive at higher frequencies.

2. Dynamic range: there is a lower limit which is frequency dependent again see Fletcher-Munson. The upper limit is time dependent. Long term sound can cause hearing damage already 90dB but short term upper maximum comfort level is at 120dB. Not clear what short term means msec or sec?

3. Time resolution about 10µsec (which would equate 3.4mm sound travel in air). This is mostly import for localization of sound.

4. Detectability of differences (like distortion) is frequency and level dependent. I did not find much about that except https://www.meridian-audio.com/meridian-uploads/ara/coding2.pdf on page 25.

There are a lot of other interesting effects like masking etc.

So what would that mean for the digital reproduction of audio?

From 1 and 2: 48 kHz sampling rate and 20 bit should be sufficient. Imagine a single wave form representing that frequency and dynamic range from a single source (like a microphone). A time change of that wave form by 10 µsec should not be audible by itself but when referenced to another wave form like left/right audio channel or other microphone that time shift will become audible according to 3.