IGNORED

Has anyone used VAC and Xitel Inport to transfer micro cassettes into digital wav files?

Hi,

I am only a newbie and I know nothing about the jargon of audio world. I just have some cheap & out-of-date equipment to work things out for now. :) Thanks in advance for all of your input to my ambition.

==================================================================

My project is to convert 40 some old micro cassettes into WAV files.

Hardware:

Xitel inport (RCA-USB) stereo recording device between microcassette player and my laptop.(Win7)

Software (strange combination, but it works! :) )

1. LPrecorder

2. VAC (virtual Audio Cable)

What I'll do:

play cassette -> as input to Xitel/INPORT -> as output to laptop USB port -> as input for LPrecorder -> output as WAV files

Any low tech and/or low cost alternative suggestions are welcome if you have actually done similar or same kind of transfers. Thanks a lot.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]16275[/ATTACH]

A good song finds me even during my sleep.

Thank God for my aging ears. I now can filter out blah blah blah and tune in blue blue blue...

If there is no reply... here is more question that might get some replies?

in setting the Virtual Audio Cable options, I can set the sample rates, buffer sizes, and bits per sample, etc. Can anyone share some lights as what might be a good combination for 'recording/transfer' cassette (mainly conversation voice between people and there are background noises as well) if they are real cables recording live voices in their audio machines? Or, maybe I should look for my answers else where because this forum is probably mostly useful at the high-end products, not producing them? (thanks anyway!!)

Thank God for my aging ears. I now can filter out blah blah blah and tune in blue blue blue...